KNITMAN

January 13, 2011

IT’S MORE THAN A PAIN IN THE ARSE

Filed under: drugs, morphine, pain, pain stuff — Tags: , , — Knitman @ 8:27 pm

If you asked John he would tell you that I rarely mention my pain problems and that I just get on with it.  In fact, he would tell you that I do more than I ought to and neglect to take into consideration my limitations more often than I ought.

It is not easy for me to write what I’m about to write but it has got to the point that it is really started to bother me.

I am not really talking about people who do not know me I am talking about friends. People that I care about.

I think that mostly they have absolutely no idea at all what living with 24/7 pain is really like.  Do they think that because I’m smiling I am not hurting?  Do they think I just have a sore knee?  Or maybe a toothache?  Or that my muscles are sore after a workout at the gym?  All that my legs hurt because I’ve been on them all day? I really have no idea what they think and whilst I do not need or want to be treated as a totally helpless person, I would appreciate some understanding.

Imagine if you can what it might be like to NEVER be comfortable.  Not even with painkillers.  No, not even morphine works 100%.  The only thing that does work is a drug that knocks you out cold and of course one cannot take such drugs without causing more problems.  Anyway, back to my point.  I am never ever free of pain.  If I say I am having a good day it means that my pain is less than usual and if I am having a bad day then the pain is much more than usual.  I never get any time off. I never have a good night’s sleep. In order for me to change position I have to wake up and struggle myself into a different position.  I am rarely sleep for more than two hours at a time.  A good night’s sleep for me is four hours without waking up.I also have to get out of bed a minimum of twice every night and that in itself is a pain to say the least!

I feel the need to point this out because it seems to me that people expect that I am always polite and calm in my emotions. No one seems to give me any leeway at all if I speak out of turn or if I get offended for no apparent reason or if I over react to a minor slight or even to a non-existent slight.

I am not asking any of you to feel sorry for me that is the last thing that I want.  I am asking that you try and bear in mind that I may not look ill to you that I am and it takes its emotional toll upon me.  This last week has been particularly hard on me with the flu as well and a new-born litter.  YOU may be able to take all this in your stride but the toll it takes upon me is heavy and the way it shows is that I become overemotional and touchy.  So please do not judge me harshly for those times when I am not all sweetness and light.

My friends are very important to me and I respect and love them and I always give benefit of the doubt to them and to others.  I only ask that you do the same for me. 

Thank you for reading.

1 Comment »

  1. hi colin
    no one knows what another is feeling,just cos youhave pain does not mean you cannot shout ,we all shout occaisionally
    I only sort of know you,so cannot judge your friends thoughts
    I was runover by a landrover many years ago,and I just tell my friends I am having a bad day and we laugh and get on with things
    friends need to know when it is worse than usual,and then they will understand more,no one is perfect,so try to relax a bit,we cannot understand your pain ,but we wish you well,tell your friends when it is bad,accept their help ,and I just know we will all accept a bit of cussing
    love jane and th ekitties xxxx

    Comment by jane butters — January 13, 2011 @ 10:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

