KNITMAN

January 14, 2012

CLOSE ENCOUNTERS

Filed under: Uncategorized — Knitman @ 6:44 pm

I had a very strange experience today. I am still not sure what I think about it. 

A security guard in a shop we were in spoke to me when I said ‘hello’ as I rode by in my wh/chair. We got chatting and he eventually asked me what had happened to me, pointing to my wheelchair. 

I realised he thought I had had an accident. I said ‘no I have a neurological problem’ having no wish to list my ills! He then said ‘I hope you get well soon’ and I responded that I wouldn’t get well and will likely get worse. 

His response is what has left me …I cannot think of a word that describes how I feel. He got really upset and said he would pray for me. I told him I was happy and it could be very much worse. I told him how good my life is and how I would not want to go back. He was still upset and he then said ‘you are far too nice to have this’. 

I have never ever had a reaction like this from anyone, let alone a total stranger. He was Indian and spoke Urdu (we chatted for quite a while). He clearly was an empathetic man. 

I know I react in similar ways which is why i am careful what I watch or read and I also tend to keep myself more protected. I found myself trying to comfort this stranger! trying to tell him how it really isn’t that bad, I do really have a good life. This is one of those encounters I shall never forget.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.